My wife and I started knitting not too long ago. It’s been a lot of fun.

I actually first learned how to knit back in high school.

I remember I made a bullet proof pot holder (it was my first attempt, and I knit very tightly) and a scarf (very fancy stuff, with stripes and everything).

After that I got bored and moved on, as teenagers do. Didn’t think about it for years.

Then my wife decided to teach herself to knit, and as I watched her get going I remembered enjoying it, way back in the day.

I realized I wanted to give it another shot, and now between the two of us the living room is often filled with the clicking of needles.

It’s pretty wonderful. For one thing, it’s relaxing. Getting into a rhythm with the stitches has an almost hypnotic effect.

In addition to unwinding, leisure time feels productive. Sure, I sat on the couch and relaxed. I also made something.

Then there’s the challenge of it. One of the nice things about knitting is you can complicate the hell out of it of you want to.

Which, of course, I do.

New stitches, more complex patterns, adding colors, learning new ways to hold the yarn.

Each thing I make brings a new challenge or variation. Figuring out how to make the yarn do something new is an intricate puzzle for my fingers to solve.

So far, since resurrecting this hobby, I’ve completed three projects.

The first was a simple scarf for myself, which was followed by a more intricate one (seed stitch, not advanced by any means but easier to mess up) for Lynne.

Then I made a sock. Not a pair, just the one.

I haven’t yet graduated to knitting in the round, but I found some instructions on making flat socks.

The website I read these instructions on didn’t give any advice on gauge or measurements or anything, so the sock is more like a large boot made of yarn.

Seriously. Lynne can fit both feet in the damn thing at the same time.

If it weren’t so funny, I’d hate it.

Right now I’m learning how to knit multiple colors into words and patterns. I figure I’ll make a small blanket for Wynnie and Vega.

By the time I’m done with that, I should be more comfortable juggling multiple strands at once.

That’ll help when I finally move on to my obvious ultimate goal: Christmas sweaters!

2 thoughts on “Knitwit

  1. Have you done any stranding yet? If so, you could probably start on a Christmas sweater right away. The hardest thing about sweaters is the time it takes to complete — lots of patience and persistence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve started stranding, yes. Just practice bits that I either use as a coaster or pull apart. The blanket I’m planning will have two colors and lots of stranding 🙂

      Can’t wait to get into some more complicated stuff!

      Like

Leave a Reply

